Formula One 2009 - Chinese Grand Prix

The Chinese Grand Prix, the first after the diffuser fiasco was settled, was wet. In qualifying, Red Bull did really well, gaining poll position. Jenson Button was down in fifth place.

Alonso was in second place - but with not much fuel on board and a wet start under the safety car, he elected to go into the pits just before the safety car came in. Perfect timing. He would have had to go in anyway, but it's better to go in just before normal racing resumes (or in this case, normal racing 'sumes'...) instead of just after.

Webber started third, Barrichello fourth. Hamilton was down in ninth.

Timo Glock, with a penalty for changing his gearbox, used the safety car to start from the pits, immediately putting in more fuel. A sensible tactical decision.

There was a lot of spray today. Coming into the finishing straight, lots of cars came off - but were able to keep going. Lots of cars were spinning and coming off throughout the race.

Adrian Sutil looked like he might get the first points for Force India-Mercedes - but he hit a wet patch, corrected, then a dry patch meant the correction was too much, and he spun out losing his front wheels.

Red Bull finished with a first and second place finish (Vettel first), and Jenson Button was third. Vettel was involved in an earlier incident with Buemi, Buemi drove into the back of Vettel and went up into the air. Any other day, these guys would have been out of it, but a quick change of the front end for Buemi and he went on to eighth, Vettel won. Hamilton kept making up places, only to lose them when he went off on the turn near the pit lane.

  Driver Team Points
1 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 21
2 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 15
3 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 10
4 Timo Glock Toyota 10
5 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 9.5
6 Jarno Trulli Toyota 8.5
7 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 4
8 Fernando Alonso Renault 4
9 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 4
10 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 4
11 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 3.5
12 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 3
13 Sebastien Bourdais Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1
14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 0
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari 0
16 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 0
17 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Mercedes 0
18 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 0
19 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 0
20 Nelson Piquet Jr Renault 0