Formula One 2009 - Australia GP

The first Grand Prix of the season has been run, but it's not yet over with the points awarded changing even today. The new season was like the script of a Disney film for the Brawn GP team. Honda was leaving Formula One, and the team was taken over by Ross Brawn. The team was rationalised, which involved lots of people losing their jobs, and a new car was designed. In qualification the team got the top spots on the grid. In race, Jenson Button never lost the lead. Brawn GP is the team that faced adversity to gain eventual triumph and both first and second place.

The last team to win on their debut was in 1977 (Wolf), and the last time a debut team got the 1-2 finish was Mercedes in 1954. In a lovely echo, Brawn use Mercedes engines.

The race was not without controversy. Finishing under a safety car, Jarno Trulli was penalised for passing Hamilton. Today, this decision has been undone, and Hamilton has lost all of his points. McLaren have been penalised for 'for providing evidence deliberately misleading to the stewards at the hearing on 29 March'.

The new table looks like this:

  Driver Team Points
1 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 10
2 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 8
3 Jarno Trulli Toyota 6
4 Timo Glock Toyota 5
5 Fernando Alonso Renault 4
6 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 3
7 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 2
8 Sebastien Bourdais Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1
9 Felipe Massa Ferrari 0
10 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Mercedes 0
11 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 0
12 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 0
13 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 0
14 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 0
15 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 0
16 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 0
17 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 0
18 Nelson Piquet Jr Renault 0
19 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 0
20 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 0